There has been a good bit of confusion over Tannhauser’s Crate tokens, not really because of confused rules, but because of this statement on page 4 0f the Daedalus rules.
“The Crate Tokens found in DAEDALUS replace those found in both TANNHAUSER base game and OPERATION: NOVGOROD.”
This has caused many to question whether or not the Crate Tokens from all Tannhauser expansions, can or should be mixed. But before we go any further, lets look at why FFG felt the tokens needed replaced.
Below Is a table showing the Crate Tokens and a description of how they are different.
So, that’s all the different Crates, and the crux of the issue, was all the differences in the token design could be used for cheating, not unlike marked cards, but in practice there are too many Crates to make cheating worth while. However, if your concerned, you have a few options; option one is to use the table above to simply sort you crates and only use the newer style Crates. Option two, is to use proxies, and blind draw the Crates from a bag or cup. Option three, is to just not worry about it.
Option two is my personal favorite, and you can find out more about my solution HERE.
Well I hope you find all this info helpful, and if you have an edition of any Tannhauser expansion, with a style of Crate Token not featured here, please send me a scan.